Translate page with Google

Pulitzer Center Update June 18, 2019

'Threshold' Podcast Wins Edward R. Murrow Award

Media: Authors:
Winfred Obruk points to the lost beach in Shishmaref, Alaska, where the community's playground and fish-drying racks are now under water. The island faces rapid erosion due to the effects of climate change, and residents have voted twice to relocate. They are determined to move as a community, but while they try to navigate this costly and complicated process, the Chukchi Sea pushes ever-closer to their homes." Image by Nick Mott. United States, 2017.


Cold Comfort

Season two of Threshold takes listeners to the homes, hunting grounds, and melting coastlines of...

author #1 image author #2 image
Multiple Authors
2019 Edward R. Murrow National Award Recipient Medallion.
2019 Edward R. Murrow National Award Recipient Medallion.

The Pulitzer Center is pleased to announce that Threshold, a Pulitzer Center-supported podcast founded and produced by grantees Amy Martin and Nick Mott, won the 2019 Edward R. Murrow News Series award in the small market radio category.

Martin launched Threshold in 2017, with each season focusing on one story of "pivotal change from the natural world." Season two, which focuses on climate change in the Arctic, has received praise from various media outlets including High Country News, Outside Online, Bello Collective, and The Philadelphia Inquirer.

Mott is currently the producer of Threshold, and his work has been featured in The Washington Post, NPR's All Things Considered, and Montana Public Radio.

Listen to "Cold Comfort," the podcast's award-winning second season, on the Threshold website

Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards. Among the most prestigious in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession. 


yellow halftone illustration of an elephant


Environment and Climate Change

Environment and Climate Change