Translate page with Google

Pulitzer Center Update June 8, 2022

Pulitzer Center Board Member Azmat Khan Receives Freedom of the Press Award


Pulitzer Center Board Member Azmat Khan is being honored in the 2022 Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press Awards. Khan has been named the winner of the Catalyst Award, which honors a journalist or organization whose work has had a significant impact.

According to the Reporters Committee, Khan’s “investigations for The New York Times Magazine, the PBS series FRONTLINE, and BuzzFeed’s investigations team have exposed major myths of war, prompting widespread policy impact from Washington to Kabul, and winning nearly a dozen awards.”

Khan and her New York Times team won the 2022 Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting for The Civilian Casualty Files, an investigation into civilian deaths resulting from U.S. airstrikes in the Middle East. Khan was named to the Pulitzer Center board earlier this year.

In a press release, Bruce D. Brown, executive director of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, said, “The dedication, tenacity and perseverance of this year’s Freedom of the Press Award winners are what make them stand out as leaders in journalism and media law.”

The awards will be handed out on October 11, 2022, at the Ziegfeld Ballroom in New York City. The awards dinner will be co-chaired by A.G. Sulzberger, chairman and publisher of The New York Times, and Nikhil Deogun, CEO of the Americas and U.S. senior partner at the Brunswick firm.

Other honorees include PBS anchor Judy Woodruff; Kevin T. Baine, senior counsel at Williams & Connolly LLP; and Wendi C. Thomas, founding editor and publisher of MLK50: Justice Through Journalism.

You can read more about them and the other winners by clicking here.