September 15, 2015 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Jenna Krajeski
Syrian Kurds are trying to build a leftist revolution in the midst of a civil war. Is it a new Middle East, or just another fracture?
June 15, 2015 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Kwame Dawes, Andre Lambertson
A multimedia exploration of HIV/AIDS, homophobia, and the church in Jamaica, featuring a short documentary and a series of video poems.
April 2, 2015 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Erik Vance, Dominic Bracco II
Two forces threaten the sustainability of sharks—fishermen in developing countries like Mexico and consumers in China. Both seem unstoppable but both will have to change if sharks are to survive.
March 4, 2010 / Virginia Quarterly Review, Untold Stories
Dimiter Kenarov
“Lock the rear door.” The voice of our turret gunner is calm, almost weary, like the voice of a steward on a commercial flight from New York to Paris. “Passenger weapon status is amber. Insert...
January 15, 2010 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Marco Vernaschi
A frantic voice came over the radio: a blast had just destroyed Guinea-Bissau's military headquarters.
January 15, 2010 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Narayan Mahon, Tristan McConnell
As we sped through the dusty heat of rural Somaliland on one of the region's few paved roads, an armed escort behind us and the hills of Ethiopia ahead, Dr. Adan Abokor told me his story.
July 30, 2009 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Asim Rafiqui
July 1, 2009 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Elliott Woods, Asim Rafiqui
Israel did its best to keep me out of the Gaza Strip. Not just me—all international media.
July 1, 2009 / Virginia Quarterly Review
David Enders
As the crowd of chanting men grew around us, my translator gave me a sidelong glance. "We should leave now," he said.
June 1, 2009 / Utne Reader, Virginia Quarterly Review
Lygia Navarro
Cuba has the highest rate of depression and suicide in the New World. So why does Castro's vaunted health care system deny the very existence of mental illness on the island?
August 1, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
David Enders
Mehyar said he had a car, but he didn't bring it with him. "It's broken," he told me, and I'm sure my expression gave away my dismay. "We can take a cab, or we can take my bike."
July 16, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Jason Motlagh
The express bus from Hyderabad to Dantewada takes fifteen hours on a good day.
May 30, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Roberto Guerra, Ruxandra Guidi
From the VQR website:

Pages