April 2, 2015 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Erik Vance, Dominic Bracco II
Two forces threaten the sustainability of sharks—fishermen in developing countries like Mexico and consumers in China. Both seem unstoppable but both will have to change if sharks are to survive.
January 15, 2015 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Kwame Dawes, Andre Lambertson
"When We Pray," and other poems by Kwame Dawes from his and Andre Lambertson's reporting investigating the experience of living with HIV/AIDS in the Christian Church in Jamaica.
January 6, 2015 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Dimiter Kenarov, Boryana Katsarova
Two performances seem to be taking place in parallel: one inside the theater with actors, and another in the streets outside with soldiers in green balaclavas and no recognizable insignia.
January 15, 2010 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Narayan Mahon, Tristan McConnell
As we sped through the dusty heat of rural Somaliland on one of the region's few paved roads, an armed escort behind us and the hills of Ethiopia ahead, Dr. Adan Abokor told me his story.
July 30, 2009 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Asim Rafiqui
July 1, 2009 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Elliott Woods, Asim Rafiqui
Israel did its best to keep me out of the Gaza Strip. Not just me—all international media.
July 1, 2009 / Virginia Quarterly Review
David Enders
As the crowd of chanting men grew around us, my translator gave me a sidelong glance. "We should leave now," he said.
June 1, 2009 / Utne Reader, Virginia Quarterly Review
Lygia Navarro
Cuba has the highest rate of depression and suicide in the New World. So why does Castro's vaunted health care system deny the very existence of mental illness on the island?
August 1, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
David Enders
Mehyar said he had a car, but he didn't bring it with him. "It's broken," he told me, and I'm sure my expression gave away my dismay. "We can take a cab, or we can take my bike."
July 16, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Jason Motlagh
The express bus from Hyderabad to Dantewada takes fifteen hours on a good day.
May 30, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Roberto Guerra, Ruxandra Guidi
From the VQR website:
April 25, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Joshua Cogan, Kwame Dawes
There are two Jamaicas.
November 25, 2007 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Kelly Hearn
Kelly Hearn tells the story of one trip into the Amazonian rainforest to give a big-picture look at the hydrocarbon industry's push into the Tropical Andes.

Pages