January 15, 2015 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Kwame Dawes, Andre Lambertson
"When We Pray," and other poems by Kwame Dawes from his and Andre Lambertson's reporting investigating the experience of living with HIV/AIDS in the Christian Church in Jamaica.
January 6, 2015 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Dimiter Kenarov, Boryana Katsarova
Two performances seem to be taking place in parallel: one inside the theater with actors, and another in the streets outside with soldiers in green balaclavas and no recognizable insignia.
January 6, 2015 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Kwame Dawes, Andre Lambertson
In early December 2013 and early 2014, Kwame Dawes and Andre Lambertson traveled to Jamaica to investigate the experience of people living with HIV/AIDS in the Christian Church.
July 30, 2009 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Asim Rafiqui
July 1, 2009 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Elliott Woods, Asim Rafiqui
Israel did its best to keep me out of the Gaza Strip. Not just me—all international media.
July 1, 2009 / Virginia Quarterly Review
David Enders
As the crowd of chanting men grew around us, my translator gave me a sidelong glance. "We should leave now," he said.
June 1, 2009 / Utne Reader, Virginia Quarterly Review
Lygia Navarro
Cuba has the highest rate of depression and suicide in the New World. So why does Castro's vaunted health care system deny the very existence of mental illness on the island?
August 1, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
David Enders
Mehyar said he had a car, but he didn't bring it with him. "It's broken," he told me, and I'm sure my expression gave away my dismay. "We can take a cab, or we can take my bike."
July 16, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Jason Motlagh
The express bus from Hyderabad to Dantewada takes fifteen hours on a good day.
May 30, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Roberto Guerra, Ruxandra Guidi
From the VQR website:
April 25, 2008 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Joshua Cogan, Kwame Dawes
There are two Jamaicas.
November 25, 2007 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Kelly Hearn
Kelly Hearn tells the story of one trip into the Amazonian rainforest to give a big-picture look at the hydrocarbon industry's push into the Tropical Andes.
August 30, 2007 / Virginia Quarterly Review
Carlos Villalon, Phillip Robertson
When the trumpet sounded, everything was prepared on earth, and Jehovah divided the world among Coca-Cola Inc., Anaconda,

Pages