Event

Online Party with Glaciologist Joel Harper and 'Threshold' Podcast Team

The Greenland ice sheet holds enough water to raise sea levels roughly 23 feet if it were to melt completely. On a recent research trip, students Rosie Leone, Aidan Stansberry and Ian MacDowell used radar to map the bed of rock and soil below the ice sheet to figure out how parts of the ice sheet may move toward the ocean. Image by Amy Martin. Greenland, 2018.

The Greenland ice sheet holds enough water to raise sea levels roughly 23 feet if it were to melt completely. On a recent research trip, students Rosie Leone, Aidan Stansberry and Ian MacDowell used radar to map the bed of rock and soil below the ice sheet to figure out how parts of the ice sheet may move toward the ocean. Image by Amy Martin. Greenland, 2018.

Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 9:00PM
Online
Donate and RSVP

Join Amy Martin and the Threshold team on Thursday, December 13, 2019, for an exclusive online party with glaciologist Joel Harper.

The online party is for donors only, but any donation, of any amount, qualifies people to attend. So if you'd like to support the Threshold and attend this online celebration, just click the link above to donate, and the Threshold team will send you an invitation.

The party features Harper from the University of Montana, who will be on the episode 12 of Threshold, when Martin and her team travels to the Greenland Ice Sheet.

Viewers of the online party will be a chance to ask Harper questions about his research on one of the world's biggest ice cubes–a 10,000-foot-thick hunk of ice resting on the world's biggest island, slowly melting into the sea. The Greenland ice sheet is important in the climate change story, and this is a rare opportunity to meet with one of the leading experts on how it moves and changes as the world warms.

On Season 2 of Threshold, the team traveled to all eight Arctic countries and discovered countless stories unfolding in the far north. Climate change is just the tip of the iceberg.

Please note: time of online party is 6 pm Pacific | 7 pm Mountain | 8 pm Central | 9 pm Eastern.